Dens‎ > ‎

Welcome to the Webelos I Den!

What are 'Webelos'?

Webelos boys who have completed third grade (or reached age 10).  The Webelos I den is for boys in fourth grade.

The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program. Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys in the pack do. Webelos Scouts get to work on the 20 Webelos activity badges.

Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their weekly den meetings. Once a boy learns a skill, he practices it at den meetings and at home on his own. His family helps him at home. Webelos Scouts bring the projects they do at home to the den meetings to show others, and to have the Webelos den leader approve their projects.

When a boy has done the requirements for an activity badge, the Webelos den leader or activity badge counselor, rather than a parent, approves most of the activity badges. It takes three activity badges, including Fitness and Citizen, to earn the Webelos badge.

Besides earning activity badges, Webelos Scouts can earn the compass points emblem. This emblem is awarded after a Webelos Scout has earned seven activity badges. For each four activity badges a Webelos Scout earns after that, he receives a compass point—east, west, north, and south.

What Webelos are doing!

We're working toward the Webelos Badge.  You can read about the requirements in the Webelos Handbook or in worksheets published on
Webelos wear EITHER the navy blue Cub scout uniform OR the tan Boy Scout uniform.  All Webelos wear the same plaid cap and neckerchief, and the navy blue belt with any belt loops earned.  See the official Webelos inspection sheet for complete details.

Bob Greitzer,
Sep 14, 2010, 6:56 PM
Bob Greitzer,
Sep 13, 2010, 8:06 PM